top of page

I Belong To The Lord.

remember it like it was yesterday. I was walking through Glenwood Elementary hallway, going to my next class. A well-known girl by the name of AhJa asked me a question I had never been asked. "Rickell do you go to Church anywhere"? A very scared eleven-year old that knew the answer, but scared to say it yelled back, "No I don't". A very rare question to me at that time at least between two preteens. However, AhJa response was the best mature response ever she than yelled: " girl you better go to church". At that very moment looking back at it, God had called me right at that moment.

So, after class was over I rushed right downstairs to met my mother/daycare teacher to tell her the great news. I screamed with excitement that I was invited to church and wanted to go. My mother, with amazement on her face, then started immediately looking for us a church to go to. However, I knew a girl who was also in my classroom that grandmother was the first lady in a well-known church in our area. I thought maybe if we would wait for her to walk home I could ask her about the church. I believe it was at this very moment that I started knowing who Jesus was and Is. He is my Redeemer and my best friend. My savior and my salvation. The Way, The Truth, and The life John:14 verse 6.


 

The following week we ran into my classmate's grandmother and she was what I thought an older elder in church lady should be. she walked with such poised and knew who she was and whose she was. Immediately I dragged my mother to go and meet her. It as though I knew my Salvation depended on me meeting this Woman of God. My Mother then walked to her introducing us to her but to me it was like I already knew her. My Mother then said" My daughter would like to start attending your church and Sunday school classes. The first lady beaming from ear to ear said " sure you can come and do you have a Bible little one" as she looked me in my eyes. I stated to her no and then she reached in her pocketbook and reached out a powder blue New Testament the size of my hand and gave it to me. However, my mother told her that we would be giving it back to her but I knew at that very moment that it was mine and I would be keeping it forever.


At that very moment, I realized that she had gifted me with the beginning of who God, Jesus Christ The Lord, and the Holy Spirit was. <y mother then telling me to tell her thank you and I did. After she gave us the Bible we began attending their church and what happened next still baffles me to this day even twenty-eight years later. It all began one Sunday morning me and my cousin was sitting in the middle section of the church. Like any other eleven years old, I started looking and gazing everywhere but listening to the pastor preach. But, soon as I caught myself I notice the male usher in the back nodding his head towards me to pay attention and to go up to the altar. Thinking to myself like he did not just make eye contact with me to go up to where I only notice adults go to. So, I pretended to play it off and try to turn around as though I did not see this man read to a fifth. But when I turned around what happens next still to this day I can not understand.

Immediately my hand went up and suddenly I felt as though I left my body and God took over it. While all of this was happening I finally got in tune to hear what the Pastor was preaching, I notice it was an altar call. Now, mind you I did not grow up in church and I did not know what to do at that time because of how sacred it is. this altar call changed my whole entire life forever. I knew God had taken control of my hand but, chile when I tell you he took over my body as well words can not explain how I felt. God called me out of whatever I was in and going through. I felt as though I knew him or was learning God as a Father but most importantly my Creator. Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

All I know is I did not put my hand up and at the very moment I could not even control my own body. It was as though I was having an out-of-body experience with God and I loved every moment of it. Well, long story short I accepted Jesus Christ The Lord as my savior that day, and still, he is everything good to me to this day. I am so excited that I did and I'm very much blessed that I did I always reminded that Jesus said "whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God. God dwelleth in him, and he in God". 1 John 4:15. So if God called me at the age of 11 he can call anybody. That means a drug addict or a drug dealer, or even a stripper. I pray that all will receive and accept Christ as their Lord and Savior. The moment has and will be always good. Yes, yes you are going to have trials and tribulations but God is greater than anything and by him sending His Only Begotten Son Jesus to die on the cross for all sin I so satisfied that God, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost loves me that much.

 

Written by Rickell B.


Thank you all for your love and support. God bless you guys. What would you like for us to write next?


Where to find us-Twitter:@BBarrrett, @starks_industry, @AintDunneYet, @SageNetworkX, and @FantasyLogician. Don't forget to subscribe to NewLifefantasy.com mailing list, Subscribe to our New YouTube Channel and sign up as a member for free to get all updates from us and also subscribe to our new Fantasy Baseball Life Dynasty Podcast. It helps us to keep the site and podcast going.




109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page